School Committee Race Heats Up with two Former Members Hoping to Return

Subscribe to our free, daily publication for all your Westford news.

A heated School Committee race got even hotter this spring when two long-term members tossed in their hats seeking to return for another three-year term each.

Terry Ryan and Arthur Benoit had left the committee when their terms expired.

After serving on the School Committee for six years, Ryan took a leap and ran for the U.S. Representative seat for the third Congressional district being vacated by Niki Tsongas who held it from 2007 to 2019. That seat was won in 2018 by Lori Trahan, a Westford Democrat. Ryan then switched to running for the open state Senatorial seat won in 2018 by Edward J. Kennedy, a Lowell Democrat. The 1st Middlesex District which Kennedy oversees includes Dunstable, Groton, Pepperell, Lowell, Westford and Tyngsboro.

Benoit’s final term ended last spring when he did not seek re-election. He had served 13 years, from 2006 to 2019.

The other candidates for School Committee are Valery Young, Jannelle Cioffi, Paul Kravitz, and Gloria Miller, the incumbent. A second School Committee seat is being vacated by Megan Eckroth after one three-year term.

According to Town Clerk Patty Dubey, there are 17,000 registered voters in town.