HomeCulturalEagle Badge Awarded to Three; State Legislator Attends Ceremony

Eagle Badge Awarded to Three; State Legislator Attends Ceremony


Get daily Westford text alerts by subscribing here.

State Rep. James Arciero recently attended the Eagle Scout Court of Honor Ceremonies for Joseph Klostermann, Caleb Macey, and Ian McCarthy of Westford Boy Scout Troop 159.  To achieve the rank of Eagle, a scout must earn at least 21 merit badges in a number of different subjects ranging from first aid to nuclear science. It is the highest award conferred in scouting.

Additionally, Eagle Scout candidates must plan and complete an extensive Eagle Scout project which consists of the coordination of materials, manpower, and the cooperation of many individuals to achieve the objective of the project.

Such projects benefit community groups or civic organizations and represent service to society as well as a demonstration of the leadership required to be an Eagle Scout. For his project, Klostermann replaced the street signs and main sign in the parking area of the Grassy Pond conservation area.

Macey led a project to build a Ga-ga ball pit at the Norman E. Day School in Westford. Ga-ga ball is a non-traditional ball game played in an octagonal structure using a traditional kickball.  It can be played with any number of participants and it does not require any specials skills or physical attributes to be successful.

Finally, McCarty worked with Scout peers, adult leaders, and friends to build an information kiosk for the American Legion Little League baseball field.

As part of the ceremony, Arciero, who is also an Eagle Scout, presented Klostermann,  Macey, and McCarthy with official citations from the Massachusetts House of Representatives to mark the auspicious occasion.