HomeCATNews UpdatesElectionJune 30 Winning Candidates, Ready to Serve

June 30 Winning Candidates, Ready to Serve


Subscribe now to our free daily alerts for all your Westford news.

Editor’s note: The June 30 town election returned two veterans to the Select Board and School Committee, and added one new member to each. Here are some of the winners expressing what they hope to accomplish over the next few years.



I’m thrilled to be serving Westford for another term.  I’m ready to work with all of our town functions as we face the continuing health and budget challenges related to Covid-19, and am looking forward to continuing to focus on safety, wellness, diversity and equity through the Select Board and the Town and School Safety and Wellness Task Force.–TOM CLAY, won his second three-year term to the Select Board.


Gloria Miller is running for School Committee. COURTESY PHOTO

I am grateful for the opportunity to continue to serve as a member of School Committee for another term.  We have numerous challenges ahead with both COVID-19 and the potential loss of local revenue and state aid.  But Westford always finds a way forward together and I am committed to continuing the hard work needed to find positive solutions on behalf of our students.

Thank you to the voters for entrusting me to help navigate these uncertain times.  My top priorities will be reopening schools safely, supporting our administration, teachers, and students during this public health crisis, and making needed improvements to the school budget process. Westford Public Schools greatly benefited my children and now I can pay it forward to my community by continuing to serve our schools and town.–Gloria Miller, won her second three-year term to the School Committee.


Angela Harkness. COURTESY PHOTO

I am looking forward to serving as Westford’s Town Moderator. It’s an honor and a privilege to have been elected to this position. My thanks go out to the voters for giving me this opportunity. I will do my best to make Town Meeting welcoming to all and easy to attend. See you in the fall! —ANGELA HARKNESS won her first three-year term as town moderator.

Additional winners: Anita Tonakarn-Nguyen, Select Board; Robert Shaffer, Planning Board; Valery Young, School Committee. In uncontested races the following will serve: Michele Pitoniak-Crawford and Zac Cataldo, three years each returning to the Board of Health; Library Trustees Robert D. Price and newcomer Lynn Clermont, three years each.